French-speaking music Francophone music



2009 Juno Awards Winners

29 March 2009
The 2009 Juno Awards gala evening honours 32 of Canada’s top recording artists.

The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) celebrated the class of 2009 JUNO Award winners at tonight’s JUNO Gala Dinner & Awards held in Vancouver, BC. The non-televised gala event attended by more than 1,200 music industry guests and nominees honoured 32 new JUNO Award winners — the first of two nights celebrating the best and brightest in Canadian music.

Kicking off the JUNO Awards Gala Dinner & Awards show was an electrifying performance by first-time JUNO Award nominees, Beast. As JUNO Award statuettes were distributed throughout the evening, additional performances lit up the stage from JUNO Award nominees Elise Estrada, Nikki Yanofsky, Steve Dawson, The Gryphon Trio and The Trews.

A double win went to indie-rockers and first-time JUNO Award winners The Stills, who received the JUNO Award for New Group of the Year (sponsored by FACTOR and Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters) and Alternative Album of the Year for “Oceans Will Rise”.

R&B songstress Divine Brown also received her first JUNO Award for R&B/Soul Recording of the Year for “The Love Chronicles”; while Canada’s rap superstar Kardinal Offishall won the JUNO Award for Single of the Year for the hit collaboration “Dangerous” with American hip hop singer Akon.

Serena Ryder received the win for Adult Alternative Album of the Year, making it her second JUNO Award to-date following her debut success and 2008 win for New Artist of the Year.

Other 2009 JUNO Award wins of the evening included: Alanis Morissette (Pop Album of the Year); Buffy Sainte-Marie (Aboriginal Album of the Year); Doc Walker (Country Recording of the Year); Humble (Reggae Recording of the Year); Molly Johnson (Vocal Jazz Album of the Year); and Sam Roberts (Rock Album of the Year).

2009 Juno Awards Winners

Juno Fan Choice Award

Single Of The Year
«Dangerous» Kardinal Offishall

International Album Of The Year
«Viva La Vida» Coldplay

Album Of The Year
«Dark Horse» Nickelback

Artist Of The Year
Sam Roberts

Group Of The Year

Instrumental Album Of The Year
«Nostomania» DJ Brace presents The Electric Nosehair Orchestra

Pop Album Of The Year
«Flavors of Entanglement» Alanis Morissette

Rock Album Of The Year
«Love At The End Of The World» Sam Roberts

New Artist Of The Year

New Group Of The Year
The Stills

Songwriter Of The Year
Dallas Green «Waiting...» | «Sleeping Sickness» | «The Girl»

Country Recording Of The Year
«Beautiful Life» Doc Walker

Adult Alternative Album Of The Year
«Is it o.k» Serena Ryder

Rap Recording Of The Year
«Not 4 Sale» Kardinal Offishall

Alternative Album Of The Year
«Oceans Will Rise» The Stills

Vocal Jazz Album Of The Year
«Lucky» Molly Johnson

Contemporary Jazz Album Of The Year
«Embracing Voices» Jane Bunnett

Traditional Jazz Album Of The Year
«Second Time Around» Oliver Jones

Francophone Album Of The Year
Tous les sens Ariane Moffatt

Children’s Album Of The Year
«Snacktime!» Barenaked Ladies

Classical Album Of The Year: Solo Or Chamber Ensemble
«Homage» James Ehnes

Classical Album Of The Year: Large Ensemble Or Soloist(s) With Large Ensemble Accompaniment
«Beethoven: Ideals Of The French Revolution» Orchestre symphonique de Montréal/Kent Nagano

Classical Album Of The Year: Vocal Or Choral Performance
«Gloria! Vivaldi’s Angels» Ensemble Caprice

Classical Composition Of The Year
«Flanders Fields Reflections» John Burge

Dance Recording Of The Year
«Random Album Title» Deadmau5

R&B/Soul Recording Of The Year
«The Love Chronicles» Divine Brown

Reggae Recording Of The Year
«Everything» Humble

Aboriginal Recording Of The Year
«Running For The Drum» Buffy Sainte-Marie

Roots & Traditional Album Of The Year: Solo
«Proof Of Love» Old Man Luedecke

Roots & Traditional Album Of The Year: Group
«Chic Gamine» Chic Gamine

Blues Album Of The Year
«Ramblin’ Son» Julian Fauth

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album Of The Year
«Ending Is Beginning» Downhere

World Music Album Of The Year
«Africa To Appalachia» Jayme Stone & Mansa Sissoko

Jack Richardson Producer Of The Year Daniel Lanois «Here Is What Is» | «Not Fighting Anymore» HERE IS WHAT IS - Daniel Lanois

Recording Engineer Of The Year
Kevin Churko “Disappearing” | “The Big Bang” U-CATASTROPHE - Simon Collins

CD/DVD Artwork Design Of The Year
Anouk Pennel (Director/Designer); Stéphane Poirier (Illustrator)
«En concert dans la forêt des mal-aimés avec l’Orchestre Métropolitain du Grand Montréal» Pierre Lapointe

Video Of The Year
«Honey Honey» Anthony Seck Feist

Music DVD Of The Year
«Blue Road» Christopher Mills, Geoff McLean

Francomix - All rights reserved